The Wall Street Journal vs. Miss Myrtle

Well Dearies, even a potted plant can learn something every day…

Imagine my great surprise upon opening an email from Moderator at the Wall Street Journal.

Had been reading and enjoying on-line articles in the WSJ, and occasionally adding my comments along with those of others.

I tried to post a comment on the recent article about the newest gazillion dollar Ferrari, and a pop-up suggested that I contact Moderator@wsj.com .Here is the resulting conversation:

MM – Hello Dearies,

Just tried to post a comment, and the contact you info came up.
Please explain.
Many Thanks,
Miss Myrtle

WSJ – Dear Miss Myrtle,

Thank you for contacting The Wall Street Journal. Your current inability to comment is due to a suspected violation of ourreal-name policy. We believe that the use of real names encourages thoughtful dialogue and meaningful connections between real people. We believe the quality of conversations can deteriorate when real identities are not provided. Please be advised that WSJ requires the use of your full first and last names in order to participate in commenting. Please reply to this email with your full name and permission to change your name, and we will restore your participation status. If the name you are currently using IS your real name, we require proof via supporting documentation. Please scan a government-issued ID, email it back to this address, and we will restore your participation status.

Sincerely,

Moderator

WSJ.com

MM – Dearies,

Thank you so much for responding to my inquiry.
I deeply believe that thoughtful and meaningful conversation between people, whatever their names, is indeed the sign of a great democracy. Richard Saunders, Mark Twain, Dear Abby, Alan Smithee, Stan Lee, and Dr.Seuss may agree with me. The  quality of the conversation with these great commentators never, as you so elegantly inferred ” deteriorated”.
Adhere to the principle that I would never join a club that would have me as a member.
With that in mind, would like to cancel my subscription to the WSJ.
By the way, is Moderator your real name?
Sincerely,
Miss Myrtle

So Dearies, the folks at Mr. Murdoch’s WSJ have no sense of humour, let alone an understanding of the meaning of free speech. Is it just my understanding, or wasn’t the celebration of the 4th of July all about that very thing, in a broader perspective?

The quality of comments on WSJ articles is only slightly higher than those on CNN, which is a sad state of affairs. Nevertheless, these reflect freedom of speech as we know it.

My previously posted inflammatory comment on the WSJ started with Wishing All of my American friends a wonderful 4th of July, and listing the 10 Things I Like About America (from a Canadian perspective), as outlined in my prior blog post.

The Wall Street Journal may consider me just a potted plant, but Dearies, I resemble that remark!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

